What is ICD-10 Code & Where to Find It?

What is ICD-10 Code & Where to Find It?

This guide is dedicated to helping you discover 1CD-10 codes as quickly and easily as possible. We hope that this can help you get familiar with the codes as fast as possible. 

What is an ICD 10 Code?

ICD-10 is the name generally given to the 10th iteration of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems known in short as ICD. ICD codes are alphanumeric classifications that assign every medical diagnosis and description of patients’ symptoms. ICD-10 is the 10th version of these codes, which will replace the United States’ current ICD-9 system.

The classifications are mainly a guide list made by the World Health Organization (WHO) to classify various diseases, signs and symptoms, complaints, circumstances, and so on, as comprehensively as possible by assigning them unique codes for easier references. 

The transition to ICD-10 is a significant move for payers providers, vendors, and providers. It will encourage business and systems changes everywhere in the health care industry from large national health plans to small laboratories, provider offices, hospitals, medical testing centers, and more. It is best to develop a transition plan now and start preparing your staff. A successful transition to ICD-10 will be vital to transforming our nation’s health care system and ensuring uninterrupted operations.

Importance of 1CD 10 Codes 

Less Need For Cumbersome Documentation 

The aim of any code is to perfectly summarize a huge chunk of information into a significantly lesser package that makes it so that communication occurs as smoothly and quickly as possible. And the ICD 10 codes do this effectively by summarizing a lot of information into unique codes that easily understandable and decipherable.

Faster Treatments

Thanks to the ICD codes and the ease of interpretation and deciphering, treatment can be administered faster to patients due to the quick passage of information and the reduced need for heavy documentation.

 How Does The ICD 10 Differ From the ICD 9

The updates made at the 10th installment of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, now known as ICD 10 was a major upgrade upon the previously existing ICD 9. From changes in basic structure to concepts expansion and clarifications, some of the major differences between the ICD-9 and 10 codes are highlighted below:

Specificity of Terms and Information

The ICD-9 was criticized for some ambiguity in some of the information described in the procedure. For example, there was no difference in code between a patient suffering from a burn in the right arm and one suffering from burns in the left arms.

In the ICD-10, however, the characters in the code has been specified such that this kind of difference is taken into consideration. 


Another major difference between these two codes lies in the fact that in the ICD-9, quite a number of chapters are so full that there’s practically no space to implement more codes. The ICD-10, however, have increased the character length, thereby also making it so that more codes are available for use.

Fuller Code Titles

Other differences include the fact that the ICD-10 employs the use of full code titles that properly reflects the advancement that has been made in the field of medicine since the implementation of the ICD-9.


In the ICD-10 code set, the alpha characters are not case sensitive as they are in the ICD’9 code sets. The use of longer characters in the ICD 10 also makes it so that it is easier to identify and specific, numerous information about diseases that can be found using the ICD-9 codes.

Feel free to employ the use of our tool now to find out your ICD-10 codes so that you can enjoy the numerous benefit.

ICD-10 History

The history of the International Classification of Diseases extends back to the late 19th century, when the need for standardizing classification concepts and terminology was recognized by the medical community in Europe. Since 1900, the ICD for mortality has been modified about once every ten years, except for the 20-year interval between ICD-9 and ICD-10.

The Mandate

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services(CMS) state that on 1st October 2015, the ICD-9 code sets worked to report medical diagnoses and inpatient procedures will be replaced by ICD-10 code sets. The transition to ICD-10 is required for everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA). The change to ICD-10 does not affect CPT coding for outpatient procedures and physician services.

The Codes

The ICD-10 code set consists of three volumes updated biannually:

Volumes 1 and 2 (PCS) classify diagnoses. They are maintained by NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics) and CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services).

Volume 3 (CM) classifies inpatient procedures in hospitals. The Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) is liable for the maintenance of volume 3. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *